Quick Exit

For urgent assistance call Triple Zero 000 or for confidential support and information call Safe Steps on 1800 015 188

Family Violence Steering Committee

Co-chaired by Fiona McCormack, CEO Domestic Violence Victoria, and the Hon. Gavin Jennings MLC, Special Minister of State, the Family Violence Steering Committee is responsible for providing specialist advice to relevant Ministers and the Social Services Taskforce on the development and implementation of policies, strategies and programs that seek to address family violence in Victoria.

It monitors the development of a comprehensive, coordinated family violence reform agenda and provides advice on the whole-of-government implementation of the Royal Commission’s recommendations.


  • The Hon. Gavin Jennings MLC – Special Minister of State (Co-Chair)
  • The Hon. Natalie Hutchins MP – Minister for Women and the Prevention of Family Violence
  • Alfie Bamblett, Indigenous Family Violence Partnership Forum representative
  • Annette Gillespie, CEO, Safe Steps
  • Antoinette Braybrook, CEO, Djirra (formerly Aboriginal Family Violence Prevention and Legal Service Victoria)
  • Bevan Warner, Managing Director, Victoria Legal Aid
  • Carolyn Worth, Representative, CASA Forum
  • Cathy Humphreys, Professor of Social Work, University of Melbourne
  • Deborah Tsorbaris, CEO, Centre for Excellence in Child and Family Welfare
  • Emily Maguire, CEO, Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria
  • Emma King, CEO, Victorian Council of Social Service
  • Fiona McCormack, CEO, Domestic Violence Victoria (Co-Chair)
  • Graham Ashton, Chief Commissioner, Victoria Police
  • Helen Kapalos, Chair, Victorian Multicultural Commission
  • Ian Hamm, CEO, Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
  • Jacqui Watt, CEO, No To Violence and Men’s Referral Service
  • Jane Herington, Director Policy, Municipal Association of Victoria
  • Jenny Blakey, Manager, Seniors Rights Victoria
  • Jenny Smith, CEO, Council to Homeless Persons
  • Joanna Fletcher, CEO, Women’s Legal Service Victoria
  • Julie Oberin, Rural Representative, Regional Integrated Family Violence Committee
  • Kate Hawkins, Deputy Magistrate, Magistrates’ Court of Victoria
  • Keran Howe, CEO, Women With Disabilities Victoria
  • Liana Buchanan, Commissioner for Children and Young People
  • Mary Barry, CEO, Our Watch
  • Michal Morris, CEO, In Touch Multicultural Centre Against Family Violence
  • Muriel Bamblett, Indigenous Family Violence Partnership Forum representative
  • Rita Butera, Executive Director, Women’s Health Victoria
  • Ro Allen, Victorian Commissioner for Gender and Sexuality
  • Rosie Batty, Chair Victim Survivors’ Advisory Council
  • Sarah Johnson, Metropolitan Representative, Regional Integrated Family Violence Committee
  • Serina McDuff, CEO, Federation of Community Legal Centres Victoria
  • Sue Matthews, CEO, The Royal Women’s Hospital
  • Wayne Muir, CEO, Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service
  • Vacant, Commissioner for Aboriginal Children & Young People
  • Chris Asquini, Deputy Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Katy Haire, Deputy Secretary, Department of Education and Training
  • Kylie Kilgour, Deputy Secretary, Department of Justice and Regulation
  • Marion Frere, Interim CEO, Office of Prevention and Women's Equality
  • Peta McCammon, Executive Director, Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Sue Clifford, CEO, Family Safety Victoria

Contact us

For any additional enquiries, please email: fvsc.secretariat@familysafety.vic.gov.au