Treaty bodies

There are 4 main bodies in the treaty process.

Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission

The Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission was established in January 2018. The Victorian Treaty Advancement Commissioner is Jill Gallagher AO. Read more.


Aboriginal Treaty Working Group

The Aboriginal Treaty Working Group was established in July 2016. It consults with Aboriginal communities to develop options for a representative body. It also provides advice to community and government on the next steps in a treaty making process. Read more. 


Aboriginal Representative Body

The Aboriginal Representative Body will provide a voice to the State of Victoria and the wider community. Read more. 


Aboriginal Community Assembly

31 Aboriginal Victorians were on the Aboriginal Community Assembly. The Assembly met over 6 days in November 2017. They made recommendations to the Aboriginal Treaty Working Group on the structure of the representative body. Read more.