Community engagement


2011 Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll

The Honour Roll recognises Aboriginal people, past and present, who make the most profound contribution to Victoria’s Aboriginal community and to our state.


Aboriginal Honour Roll Program 2011.pdf Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll Program 2011.pdfPDF (1.87 MB)


Albert Alby Clarke

The endurance athlete with a heart of gold

Alf Bamblett

A strong voice for his people

Alma Thorpe

A passionate worker up to the challenge

Archie Roach

A musical storyteller in the ancient tradition

Dorothy Peters

A champion for reconciliation and recognition

Sir Douglas Nicholls KCVO OBE JP

A trailblazer who won hearts around the nation

Elizabeth Pike

A writer whose words guide and inspire

Geraldine Briggs AO

A tireless campaigner for human rights

Joan Robinson

A humble inspiration to all

John Stewart Murray OAM JP

An honourable warrior of the Aboriginal rights movement

Johnny Mullagh or Unaarrimin

A cricket star who challenged prejudices

Lester Marks Harradine

A humble gentleman who loved community and country

Lionel Rose MBE

A sporting icon whose legend endures

Lorraine Bunta Patten

A big hearted student of life

Melva Johnson

A builder of brighter futures

Merle Jackomos OAM

A woman who strove to make a difference

Nessie Skuta OAM

A crusader against disadvantage

William Barak

An ambassador to his people

William Cooper

A leader of leaders